wi fi at glamis washes?

Imperial Sand Dune Recreation Area • Including Buttercup & Gordon's Well

Moderator: Sitewide Forum Moderators

Post Reply
randiw
1st Gear Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:08 pm

wi fi at glamis washes?

Post by randiw » Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:28 pm

Hi - Is anyone aware of any efforts to get wireless internet access in the glamis washes? I need to login when I'm at the dunes. The closest wi fi I can find is in Brawley. There's a company called Computer GURU (760-344-1449, ivguru.com) which charges $4/hr or $20/month and there's the McDonalds which charges $2.95/2 hrs. Computer GURU was just bought out by a larger company and they have expressed interest in trying to set something up in the dunes. The guys running Computer GURU are commuting from San Diego and don't know the area very well. I told them about the Glamis beach store as a possible location for their equipment.

If anyone else is interested in this or has suggestions on how to get wireless internet at the dunes I'd like to hear about it.

Thanks!
Randi

User avatar
glamispilot
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:26 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Glamis
Contact:

Post by glamispilot » Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:41 pm

i am in the process of working with beamspeed to get it put up in glamis.
you can check them out at http://www.beamspeed.net . im just waiting to here back from them....Tim
"Picking up trash one piece at a time"
Clean Dune's Makes Me Happy
http://www.glamisweather.com

User avatar
Greg Hall
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 2856
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 9:40 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Contact:

Post by Greg Hall » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:22 pm

Looks good Tim! We always need to connect while at the dunes and I have been looking some options to our current very slow service.
Greg Hall
KG6IAT
http://www.hallsengine.com
Visiting and helping to protect the dunes since 1962
Image

http://www.RideOcotilloWells.com

'06 KTM 525EXC
'98 KTM 620SC
'06 KDX 200..my son's bike
KX 100 My 11 year old son's
KFX 400 also my son's bike
LT 500..all mine

User avatar
norocksplease
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 1:54 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Contact:

Post by norocksplease » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:30 pm

sprint cell internet is good, faster than dial up by a bit, works good too!
Image

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:05 pm

I have a couple clients here in Yuma who use Beamspeed and...well...I'll just take the advice of the old saying and say nothing at all about it. And that really is the nicest thing I can say based on my experience with them. (and that's in town short distances with near ideal conditions other than heat which kills the bandwith BIG TIME.)

Verizon has pretty good coverage in the dunes in my experience and my phone shows that their towers that cover Gordon's at least are capable of supporting their digital service. It's no cable modem speed but it should be usable. Most other cell carriers also have digital net service they offer but there are several different systems used by different carriers and I'm not sure exactly which are available in the dunes or how well they work.

User avatar
Greg Hall
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 2856
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 9:40 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Contact:

Post by Greg Hall » Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:32 pm

I have used a couple of different cell connections but I find it is just not usable to up/down load large files.

I guess DataStorm is my next option.
Greg Hall
KG6IAT
http://www.hallsengine.com
Visiting and helping to protect the dunes since 1962
Image

http://www.RideOcotilloWells.com

'06 KTM 525EXC
'98 KTM 620SC
'06 KDX 200..my son's bike
KX 100 My 11 year old son's
KFX 400 also my son's bike
LT 500..all mine

User avatar
Papa Perry
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 1:53 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7
Location: SoCal
Contact:

Post by Papa Perry » Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:56 pm

I am using a T-Mobile Air Card. About the speed of dial uo, but better than nothing....

d_sheffs
3rd Gear Member
3rd Gear Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by d_sheffs » Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:16 am

Cingular is working on deploying a new wide band wireless technlolgy. This will allow cable-modem type of connection speeds from a cell based system. should be available by the end of the year. The service may not necessarily be available in the immediate glamis are at launch but it is currently being deployed nationwide. And i do know that there is a cell tower near the washes behind the store and Cingular is on it.

the only down side to a service of this type is the connection slows with high capacity. so you might go out on an off weekend and have great data speeds, but slow to a crawl on a busy holiday weekend when there is 10x the engineered level of traffic service.

L&L Corvairs
ASA Board Member
ASA Board Member
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 6:29 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Ontario, Calif.

Post by L&L Corvairs » Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:05 am

Excuse me??? Exactly WHY would you want to be on the computer instead of RIDING??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


























Just teasing you IT junkies. :D
L&L
It is not ours to decide the times in which we live.
It is only ours to decide what to do with the time given us.

Make the most of your time.

User avatar
quad1100
6th Gear "Wide Open" Member
6th Gear "Wide Open" Member
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2002 10:49 am
Please enter the middle number: 5
Contact:

Post by quad1100 » Mon Nov 07, 2005 6:00 pm

I always looked forward to going out there and not being able to be reached, kind of a get away from everyday life.

User avatar
azpyroguy
ASA Board Member • CF Chairman • Webmaster
ASA Board Member • CF Chairman • Webmaster
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:00 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Surprise, AZ
Contact:

Re: wi fi at glamis washes?

Post by azpyroguy » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:27 pm

Ikes... if that happens... then my boss WILL contact me out there.. right now I tell him that my cell and pager dont work..... but he thinks that I am just not answering.... :D
randiw wrote:Hi - Is anyone aware of any efforts to get wireless internet access in the glamis washes? I need to login when I'm at the dunes. The closest wi fi I can find is in Brawley. There's a company called Computer GURU (760-344-1449, ivguru.com) which charges $4/hr or $20/month and there's the McDonalds which charges $2.95/2 hrs. Computer GURU was just bought out by a larger company and they have expressed interest in trying to set something up in the dunes. The guys running Computer GURU are commuting from San Diego and don't know the area very well. I told them about the Glamis beach store as a possible location for their equipment.

If anyone else is interested in this or has suggestions on how to get wireless internet at the dunes I'd like to hear about it.

Thanks!
Randi
Scott Swenka, ASA Board of Directors, Chairman - ASA CF Program & ASA Website Admin

550hp Tatum Evolution Long Travel
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 Dually, Cummins 6.7
2008 Keystone Fuzion 382 40' 5th Wheel
2006 Polaris Outlaw 500 IRS

Image

User avatar
Greg Hall
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 2856
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 9:40 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Contact:

Post by Greg Hall » Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:25 pm

L&L Corvairs wrote:Excuse me??? Exactly WHY would you want to be on the computer instead of RIDING??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Just teasing you IT junkies. :D
Want to? Not really but at times we need to be able to be "on the computer"

My wife and I are both unemployed....ooops I mean't to say self employed and it allows us to finish up things while on the road.
Greg Hall
KG6IAT
http://www.hallsengine.com
Visiting and helping to protect the dunes since 1962
Image

http://www.RideOcotilloWells.com

'06 KTM 525EXC
'98 KTM 620SC
'06 KDX 200..my son's bike
KX 100 My 11 year old son's
KFX 400 also my son's bike
LT 500..all mine

User avatar
Papa Perry
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 1:53 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7
Location: SoCal
Contact:

Post by Papa Perry » Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:35 pm

L&L Corvairs wrote:Excuse me??? Exactly WHY would you want to be on the computer instead of RIDING??? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Just teasing you IT junkies. :D
How I pay for my toys. if I can help a customer for a few hours at Glamis, it pays for my whole trip.

User avatar
CrstyDmn
4th Gear Member
4th Gear Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:41 am
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: San Gabriel Valley

WiFi @ Washes

Post by CrstyDmn » Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:41 am

OK,
Just a question: Where would WiFi be best placed? Washes / G.B.S / Vendor Alley / Gecko Ranger Station.

I am a Project Mgr for SBC Freedomlink WiFi.
I think there are some great oppertunites here.

Scott :)

User avatar
glamispilot
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:26 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Glamis
Contact:

Re: WiFi @ Washes

Post by glamispilot » Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:25 am

S_ANDerson72 wrote:OK,
Just a question: Where would WiFi be best placed? Washes / G.B.S / Vendor Alley / Gecko Ranger Station.

I am a Project Mgr for SBC Freedomlink WiFi.
I think there are some great oppertunites here.

Scott :)

i need it at g.b.s for my site what band width do you offer???? Tim
"Picking up trash one piece at a time"
Clean Dune's Makes Me Happy
http://www.glamisweather.com

User avatar
CrstyDmn
4th Gear Member
4th Gear Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:41 am
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: San Gabriel Valley

WiFi @ G.B.S.

Post by CrstyDmn » Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:29 pm

Lets say we put WiFi at the G.B.S;
#1) The bandwidth would depend on the Circuit Transport available.
A DSL Line would be 384 mb minimum up to 1.5 mb.
A T1 line would be 1.5 mb.
(I would need a Telephone Number - to Qualify what is available :?: )

#2 Locating the Antennae on the roof of G.B.S. would...
Allow the average Laptop a solid useable signal 200 ft away @ 11mb 8) .
Allow a Laptop w/External Adapter (Ant. Signal Booster) avg. costs
is @ $65-$75 a solid useable signal up to 3/4 mile away @ 11mb :shock: .

Anyone truly interested in SBC WiFi,
Simply email me at SA1315@SBC.COM and reference the ASA Boards.

User avatar
azpyroguy
ASA Board Member • CF Chairman • Webmaster
ASA Board Member • CF Chairman • Webmaster
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:00 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Surprise, AZ
Contact:

Re: WiFi @ G.B.S.

Post by azpyroguy » Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:52 pm

S_ANDerson72 wrote:Lets say we put WiFi at the G.B.S;
#1) The bandwidth would depend on the Circuit Transport available.
A DSL Line would be 384 mb minimum up to 1.5 mb.
A T1 line would be 1.5 mb.
(I would need a Telephone Number - to Qualify what is available :?: )

#2 Locating the Antennae on the roof of G.B.S. would...
Allow the average Laptop a solid useable signal 200 ft away @ 11mb 8) .
Allow a Laptop w/External Adapter (Ant. Signal Booster) avg. costs
is @ $65-$75 a solid useable signal up to 3/4 mile away @ 11mb :shock: .

Anyone truly interested in SBC WiFi,
Simply email me at SA1315@SBC.COM and reference the ASA Boards.

I use a 20db gain Handheld Yagi Antenna, for my war drives that I do while testing my companies wireless security, I am able to pick up weak signals from over 1 mile away that are from indoor antennas... so I would imagine that if the antenna was outdoors and was omni-directional, with the right antenna I should be I able to go down 3-4 miles and still get around 1mb of service...

If anyone cares... A yagi antenna is pretty much directional, and requires a very short cable usually less than 20 feet from its source..unless you have some sort of a amplifier.. but I have no experience working with amps...

Oh geez... now I just sounded like a geek....
Scott Swenka, ASA Board of Directors, Chairman - ASA CF Program & ASA Website Admin

550hp Tatum Evolution Long Travel
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 Dually, Cummins 6.7
2008 Keystone Fuzion 382 40' 5th Wheel
2006 Polaris Outlaw 500 IRS

Image

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Sat Nov 12, 2005 1:04 am

Hmmm, just built a microwave pre-amp (but it's only really good for up to 1.2Ghz don't think it would do much at 2.4Ghz) and Dwayne is going to be building on as well as soon as I get his kit out to him :D

Image

I tell ya though...soldering those tiny little SMT parts is not as easy as it looks!

Maybe I'll actually get around to hooking that thing up this weekend....

I've also been working on a setup for recieving 2.4Ghz FM from a satellite but it's not quite ready yet:

Image

The downconverter (the white thing) I had to put a new crystal in to drop it's output to the 144Mhz amateur band. I still need to retune it's input filter though...just can't seem to find anyone with a spectrum analyzer and 2.4Ghz signal source to help me with that though :( Have parts to build a signal source but no test gear to see how accurate it is....

That funky green antenna I'm still kind of curious about. The label on it says it's good for 1.2Ghz - 4Ghz so it should work well for 2.4Ghz...but I have no clue as to how directional it is or how much gain it's got.

Ahh, the joys of too many hobbies and not enough time :D

d_sheffs
3rd Gear Member
3rd Gear Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by d_sheffs » Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:44 pm

WIFI is not a realistic option in the dunes. As pointed out already you have to be around 200 feet max distance between the antenna and you, not including any attenuation. So if you put a system at say the ranger station, unlees you camp on the black top immediatley next to it you will not have service. WIFI is just too low power to cover the type of terrain at glamis.

The reason cellular is much more realistic is because they can transmit to you with much more power and have much better RX amplification abilities to recieve your weak low power signal.

all these little "cell phone boosters" and antenna doo-dads are really a joke. (anyone putting slick 50 in your rail motor?) they are simplex devices and it does you no good to amplify the RX signal------you need to
boost your TX form you transceiving device also and this is something these things can not do. but sombody is making money off them and laughing all the way to the bank so good for them.

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:20 pm

WiFI for the general public may be very limited. Even antenna options to increase gain are limited by the FCC.

But if you've got an amateur radio license then there are a number of frequencies that overlap and you can run increased power levels. You can also run higher gain antennas, you give up wide coverage for directed signal but you can toss that signal a lot further. Of course you'd have to setup your own access point as well and that's the big problem.

You can't get cable or DSL out there. Your options are pretty much satellite (nice bandwith but horrible latency) or run a leased line (Major $$$$).

There are point to point wireless options (like Beamspeed) that can get a signal out to there...but they all have some pretty major drawbacks as well.

And without enough people wanting service out there to make it profitable (not going to happen without a sizeable year round population and that's simply not going to happen) the best bet will probably continue to be cellular service.

Post Reply

Return to “Glamis Dunes • I.S.D.R.A.”