how can I hook up 2 VHF radios

Technical Discussion Forum

Moderator: Sitewide Forum Moderators

Post Reply
addwires
1st Gear Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:51 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

how can I hook up 2 VHF radios

Post by addwires » Wed May 02, 2007 1:10 pm

Hey guys ,I like to hook up 2 VHF radios at the same antenna but this 2 radios are with a diferent frequency, I have a T adaptor 2 Fem. 1 Male and 3 Ft. 50-OHM 58U Coaxial Cable. do you think that this will damage the radios or make Interference, or what will the problem be?:?:

User avatar
djw
6th Gear "Wide Open" Member
6th Gear "Wide Open" Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 2:06 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by djw » Wed May 02, 2007 6:45 pm

Hey Addwires,

Welcome.

First, what are the freq's?
Two, are you listening only or transmitting? (sounds like TX)
Three, have you purchased an antenna, or still looking?
Fourth, mobile or base?

There are duplexers out there that will set you up. But looks like
they connect different band transceivers.

A true "T" fitting, (hardwired), may change your transmission line and
antenna load impedence. Plus probably back feed to the other radio during transmission.

Thinking not a good thing. :shock:
Once that magic smoke gets out... :D
djw
W8AME

User avatar
Grumpy Wookiee
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
5th Gear "Pinned" Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 2:03 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: Oceanside, CA

Post by Grumpy Wookiee » Thu May 03, 2007 8:00 am

I have always used a seperate antenna for seperate radios. I have never tried to put both on the same without a multiplexer. I would think that the main problem would be feedback. I dont think it would damage the radios, but I have been wrong.
"The Grumpy Wookiee"

Image

OLD GUY
4th Gear Member
4th Gear Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 10:08 am
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: GOLDEN VALLEY, AZ.

Antenea

Post by OLD GUY » Thu May 03, 2007 1:26 pm

You would need a selector switch which would only let one radio at a time transmit and prevent the RF from feeding back to the other. Any radio shop should have these. Usually they are a rotate type switch
New 5th. Wheeler
New Quad
Still the OLD GUY
BUT LOVING IT!!!!!!

Post Reply

Return to “GPS • Two-Way Radios”