Multi-point routes?

Technical Discussion Forum

Moderator: Sitewide Forum Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Multi-point routes?

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:10 pm

Is there a GPS out there that can build street routes with multiple points?
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Doc
Website Admin
Website Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2000 9:42 pm

Post by Doc » Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:48 pm

with my Lowrance Iway 250 c you can genetate routes with multiple points.

With my Garmin Rhino you can also can generayte routs with mutiple points.

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:32 pm

I haven't seen a GPS that can't.

User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:53 pm

jhitesma wrote:I haven't seen a GPS that can't.
I guess I'm still in the dark ages with my Magellan Meridian.
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Sat Apr 28, 2007 10:58 am

I've used one of those and they support multi-point routes, heck my GPSIII+ is older than that unit and it has no problem doing multi-point routes.

Looks like there's even software that can do auto-routing for that unit:
http://gpsinformation.us/DirectRoute/DirectRoute.html

I'm wondering if that's what you're really asking about - a GPS that has built in auto-routing?

User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:22 pm

jhitesma wrote:I've used one of those and they support multi-point routes, heck my GPSIII+ is older than that unit and it has no problem doing multi-point routes.

Looks like there's even software that can do auto-routing for that unit:
http://gpsinformation.us/DirectRoute/DirectRoute.html

I'm wondering if that's what you're really asking about - a GPS that has built in auto-routing?
Yes, one that you can add a point(s) on the fly without a computer.

I want to be able to choose, say, 5 points and have the hand held build the best route.
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:51 pm

Ah...ok. That's auto-routing. Much more complex.

You'll have to look at the higher end models designed for in-car navigation. They're usually a LOT more expensive though as they need quite a bit more memory and processing power to do automated routing.

There are quite a few on the market...but I haven't looked into them much since the main time I use my GPS is off-road. When I do use one on-road I have a cheap $30 USB model that I use with Street Atlas on my notebook. Little bulky but a lot cheaper :D

User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Sat Apr 28, 2007 9:09 pm

Looks like there's even software that can do auto-routing for that unit:
http://gpsinformation.us/DirectRoute/DirectRoute.html
I have that software. When using a multi-point route, it uses only the start and end points to compute the route.
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
jhitesma
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 7791
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2000 9:57 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by jhitesma » Sun Apr 29, 2007 8:36 pm

That's the software - not the GPS that's limiting you then.

Try Street Atlas. It's been able to do what you're asking for since 99 when I got my first copy. I use to to build routes all the time when I want to go past somewhere specific. It also has options to pick the fastest route (based on speed limit of the various roads) or the most scenic (based on points of interest).

User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:27 pm

That's the software - not the GPS that's limiting you then.
Both. You can build routes with several legs, and upload it to the GPS. Or you can build the route with the GPS. Either way, when you activate it as a street route, it uses only the start and end way points.
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

crash
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
7th Gear "No Brakes" Member
Posts: 3915
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 7:31 pm
Please enter the middle number: 5
Location: USA

Post by crash » Mon Apr 30, 2007 7:00 am

You might want to consider this:

http://www.americansandassociation.org/ ... hp?t=20239

The cost probably has come down, and it is VERY simple to change a route even while at speed. You simply right click for a menu while the pointer is on the map, highlight "add waypoint" and then click the spot on the map you want the route rerouted through. As soon as you do that it automatically recalculates with the start and end points staying the same. :wink: :D

I've personally used this to get around traffic problems while traveling and it works GREAT!!

User avatar
Vincent J Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
ASA Co-Founder • Past President
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2000 8:05 pm
antispam: NO
Please enter the middle number: 7

Post by Vincent J Brunasso » Sun May 06, 2007 6:53 pm

Bought an iWay250c from Lowrance - awesome unit for the $180 I spent - just awesome.

It didn't come with software, but there's freeware out there that does just fine for manipulating way points on your PC.
Vincent J. Brunasso
ASA Co-Founder and past president

“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
--Thomas Jefferson

Post Reply

Return to “GPS • Two-Way Radios”